Serve it with some freshly cooked Jeera rice, basmati rice or brown rice. let me show you how to make the best with my step by step guide.

Easy coconut chicken curry recipe

I could eat rice every day of the year especially plain boiled rice. I love it because it can pair it with anything and I can have it with all sorts of sauce or curry I desire. The first type of curry that comes to mind when I am looking for what to make for lunch or dinner is chicken curry or coconut chicken curry. In case you are wondering, both are the same and the only difference is that I used cornflour slurry to thicken the plain chicken curry and skip the coconut milk. Also, when I make this simple homemade curry, I love using chicken thighs as I find chicken breasts not as tasty as thighs. That said, I make an exception for instant pot chicken curry. The pressure-cooking method helps produce great tasting, flavourful and tender chicken, regardless of which cut it is. If you own a slow cooker or crockpot then you can make this recipe in 3 hours on high settings.

Why you will love this recipe

This chicken curry recipe is just about the quickest and easiest coconut curry you will ever make, It is also budget-friendly. What is not to love

You can use any type of curry powder you want or that you are familiar with (taste wise) to make this recipe. I only use mild or hot curry, my favourite brands are the ones I grew up using in Nigeria, Ducross or Lion brand. I prefer Ducross though.

You only need a handful of ingredients and you can also make some swaps too

It is gluten free and low carb curry. It is healthy and highly nutritious

This recipe stores well in the fridge or freezer and great for meal prepping

What is in my coconut curry chicken recipe

here are the list of ingredients you need to make this simple everyday chicken curry with Chicken thighs: you also use bone-in skin-on chicken thighs or chicken breasts Curry powder Coconut milk: I used full fat coconut milk but you can substitute for lite-coconut milk to make this recipe healthier.   Coconut oil: substitute for olive oil or any other flavourless cooking oil of choice Chopped onions Canned chopped tomatoes: swap this for fresh chopped tomatoes or concentrated tomato paste. You can also use red curry paste for Thai flavour. minced garlic Ginger paste chicken broth salt to taste cayenne pepper dried coriander

How to make easy coconut chicken curry

heat up coconut oil on low medium heat, add finely chopped onions and saute until soft and fragrant. Add curry powder, ginger paste, chopped garlic and continue to stir for another minute, this would help release the flavour from the curry powder. Then add the cubed chicken pieces, stir for another 2 to 3 minutes or until the chicken is white. Pour the chicken stock over the chicken, stir to combine and deglaze the bottom of the pan whilst stirring. Add chopped tomatoes, coconut milk, cayenne pepper, salt and stir to combine. Bring the curry to a gentle simmer for another 10 to 15 minutes or until the curry is reduced and thick. Stir to combine, check for salt and seasoning and adjust to taste. Take it off the heat and serve with boiled white rice, coconut rice or naan bread.

Tips

Make your own chicken stock: I used homemade chicken stock in this recipe using the bones from the chicken thighs. I deboned the chicken myself, added the bone to a small saucepan, covered it with water then seasoned it with salt, pepper and parsley. Boil over medium heat for about 15 minutes. You can also use your instant pot for this if you own one. For how to make stock in instant pot using leftover carcass from turkey or chicken, check my instant pot chicken stock recipe Make this recipe vegetarian or vegan: I know this is a chicken curry post but I am here to serve my readers as much as I can. Swap the chicken for chickpea, boiled potatoes or roasted broccoli and cauliflower. For an easy vegetarian or vegan curry, check my chickpea and sweet potato curry recipe. You will love it. Add vegetables to the curry: This chicken curry is great with veggies like zucchini (courgette), frozen peas, red bell peppers or even spinach and kale. Add them into the curry at the tail end of the cooking so the veggies remain fresh and vibrant.

Watch how to make it

How to store coconut chicken curry

This recipe stores well as I mentioned earlier in this post. Make sure it cools completely before storing in the fridge. You can keep this in the fridge in an airtight container for up to 3 days or up to 3 months in the freezer. Make sure it is labelled before storing in the freezer.

Other easy chicken recipes you will love

Cilantro lime chicken Honey mustard chicken thighs Chicken fajitas If you made this easy chicken coconut curry recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 74Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 16Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 57Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 99Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 12Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 80Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 91Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 61Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 58Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 17Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 56Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 47Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 72Easy Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe - 64